If two or more face-up cards are discovered in the
deck during the initial deal, the entire hand is re-dealt.
- It is incumbent on players to make sure their hand
is being dealt properly. If a player receives an incorrect
number of cards in the initial deal, he must announce
it before two players have acted. If he does, the
entire hand must be re-dealt. But if two or more players
have already acted, then a hand that contains an invalid
number of cards is dead, and the player is not entitled
to recover any blinds or antes.
- Minor screw-ups in the deal may be corrected by
moving dealt cards to their correct locations as long
as no one has looked at their hole cards. Players
technically have the right to demand a re-deal if
there are any anomalies, but only the most superstitious
will insist on wasting the time to replace random
cards with other random cards. But if the deal is
too far advanced to correct easily, then you must
re-deal the whole hand.
- The following important rules cover cards that should
be dealt in the hole but are erroneously exposed.
This includes cards that are flashed or that depart
the table regardless of whether or not they are seen.