way you handle a later raise depends on the amount
of the partial bet:
- If the partial amount is less than half the fixed
amount, then the next player who wants to increase
the bet can only complete the bet to the fixed amount.
This action does not count against the cap. To modify
the example above, if Player A opens for $2 and Player
B raises all-in to only $2.50, then a re-raise from
Player C could only complete the raise to $4. There
would only be one raise counted against the cap in
- This next rule is less well-known than it should
be. An all in bet or raise that is less than half
the fixed amount does not, by itself, entitle a player
who already acted to raise. Suppose there are three
players remaining in a $2 fixed limit betting round.
If Player A checks, Player B opens all in for $.50,
and Player C calls, then Player A can't raise. Even
though it is Player A's action and the bet has been
increased, it wasn't technically a complete bet, since
the increase was less than half the fixed amount.
That means if Player A raised, he would essentially
be raising his own check." If Player C had completed
Player B's bet to $2, that action would have allowed
Player A to raise. I've seen this rule interpreted
sloppily in poker rooms to prohibit a player from
check-raising after another player bets all-in. This
rule can prohibit that, but it depends on the amount
of the all-in bet and what happens afterward.